World Oil Awards 2019 winners honored at Houston gala


HOUSTON — More than 350 of the upstream oil and gas industry’s brightest minds gathered Thursday to find out, and celebrate, the winners of the 2019 World Oil Awards. The awards ceremony, now in its 18th year, seeks to recognize and honor the upstream oil and gas industry’s top innovations and innovators.

Honorees took home awards in 18 categories—encompassing the full breadth of the upstream industry—from the gala event in Houston, Texas. Today’s innovations, many of which would have seemed far-fetched a generation ago, are enabling operators to find and produce hydrocarbons more safely, economically and efficiently.

This year, more than 260 nominations were submitted from over 90 companies in more than a dozen countries around the world. Two new categories were introduced: Best Water Management Technology and Best Oilfield Fluids and Chemicals Award (combined from last year). Ninety-four finalists were selected, and the award winners were hand-picked by the World Oil Awards advisory board as this year’s most groundbreaking industry developments.

A complete list of the categories and winners appears below:

Best Completion Technology Award – TR1P Single-Trip Completion System – Weatherford

Best Data Management & Application Solution Award – SeaLytics 3.0 BOP Advisor – Baker Hughes Company

Best Deepwater Technology Award – 20,000-psi Subsea System – OneSubsea, Schlumberger

Best Oilfield Fluids and Chemicals Award – MAX-LOCK Lost Circulation Material – Baker Hughes Company

Best Drilling Technology Award – EarthStar 3D Inversions – Halliburton

Best EOR Technology Award (tie) – Winner: ESP-Enabled “HEAL” Horizontal Enhanced Artificial Lift System – HEAL Systems (a Schlumberger and Production Plus Energy Services JV) Winner: CO2 Capture, Sequestration and EOR Project – Saudi Aramco

Best Exploration Technology Award – T1T2IFMI for Unconventionals with Halliburton XMR Service – Halliburton

Best Health, Safety, Environment/Sustainable Development - Offshore Award – Jet String Elevator – Frank’s International

Best Health, Safety, Environment/Sustainable Development - Onshore Award – Tuned Prime Cement Spacer – Halliburton

Best Outreach Program – Young Women Energized – Women’s Energy Network

Best Production Technology Award – Centrifugal Jet Pumps – Weatherford

Best Digital Transformation Award – ForeSite Edge – Weatherford

Best Water Management Technology Award – HYDROCIDE – Hydrozonix

Best Well Integrity Technology Award – FORTRESS-HP High-Pressure Spring-Triggered Premium Isolation Valve – Schlumberger

Best Well Intervention Technology Award (tie) – Winner: SPECTRUM 360 – Halliburton Winner: Perseus Pump-Through Cutter – Baker Hughes Company

Innovative Thinker Award – Brian Skeels, TechnipFMC

New Horizons Idea Award – IriSphere Look-Ahead-While-Drilling Service – Schlumberger

Lifetime Achievement Award – Professor Stephen A. Holditch, Texas A&M University

As part of World Oil’s commitment to the long-term health of the industry, each year the World Oil Awards endow a leading university, which provides education for careers in the petroleum industry, with much-needed funding to equip the next generation of innovators.

Since the inception of the World Oil Awards, donations have been distributed to 35 universities and organizations as varied as the University of Houston and the University of Ibadan in Nigeria. This year’s beneficiary is the Bob L. Herd Department of Petroleum Engineering at Texas Tech University.  

The 2019 World Oil Awards were generously sponsored by: AFGlobal; Baker Hughes; AccessESP; Halliburton; IHS Markit; Siemens; and Eddie V’s Prime Seafood.  

World Oil, the leading oil and gas trade journal for the exploration, drilling and production sector, has a worldwide circulation of more than 47,000 subscribers. Gulf Energy Information has published World Oil for 103 years. Additional information on the World Oil Awards program can be found at  

Related News ///

  • No related news found.


Comments ///


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}