April 2016
News & Resources

People in the industry

People in the industry
Emily Querubin / World Oil

Aubrey McClendon died in a single-occupant, single-vehicle collision in Oklahoma City, on March 2 at the age of 56. McClendon, the shale pioneer who helped revitalize American crude oil production, was the founder and CEO of American Energy Partners (AELP). He also was co-founder, CEO and chairman of Chesapeake Energy, until his dismissal in 2013. He was known as a businessman and an advocate for natural gas as an alternative to oil and coal. The statement released by AELP, on the day of McClendon’s death, read: “Aubrey’s tremendous leadership, vision, and passion for the energy industry had an impact on the community, the country, and the world. We are tremendously proud of his legacy and will continue to work hard to live up to the unmatched standards he set for excellence and integrity.”

DNV GL has appointed Ditlev Engel to CEO of energy business, effective April 4. He will succeed Elisabeth Harstad, and will report directly to Remi Eriksen, president and CEO. Based at the company’s energy headquarters in Arnhem, The Netherlands, Engel also will serve as a member of the executive committee.

Royal Dutch Shell has announced that the company’s unconventional resources director and U.S. country chair, Marvin Odum, is leaving after 34 years with the company. Odum has held a number of commercial and technical leadership positions at Shell. Concurrent with his departure, and in a move aimed to simplify the company’s structure, the shale resources business will join the global upstream organization, under Upstream Director Andy Brown. The unconventional resources directorate will then cease to exist. Bruce Culpepper, who is presently executive V.P. HR of unconventional resources and regional coordination, will be taking over Odum’s role as U.S. country chair, effective April 1.

Tekmar Energy has welcomed Barry Cooper to its senior management team. Cooper brings more than 15 years of offshore experience to his new position as operations manager. This experience includes leadership positions at Technip Umbilicals, GE Wellstream and DeepOcean. As operations manager, Cooper will work closely with the senior management team to ensure product quality and efficient processes.

Mike Jardon has been named CEO of Expro. He succeeds Charles Woodburn, who is leaving the company in April to join BAE Systems. Jardon joined Expro in 2011, after holding various senior positions within Schlumberger’s wireline, completions, well testing and subsea businesses. He also previously led Vallourec & Mannesmann’s commercial activities across North America.

By resolution of the company’s General Shareholders Meeting, Andrey Fick was appointed managing director of Gazprom EP International B.V. Since joining the company in 1996, Fick has held a number of management positions. Most recently, he was serving as director general, Gazprom Russkaya.

Jeroen Van der Veer has been elected as a new member of Statoil’s board of directors, effective March 18. Van der Veer was formerly the CEO of Royal Dutch Shell Plc, from 2004 to 2009. After retirement, he continued to serve as a non-executive director on the board, until 2013. Van der Veer brings experience in all sectors of the business to his newest role.

Sydney-based AWE Limited has named David Biggs as the new CEO and managing director. He will succeed Bruce Clement in May. Biggs has more than 35 years of experience in the upstream oil and gas sector, and has worked extensively throughout Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia and the Americas. He most recently served as CEO of Cue Energy Limited.

TGS said that Kristian Johansen will serve as CEO after Robert Hobbs’ retirement, effective March 11. Since joining the company in 2010, Johansen has served as CFO and COO. Prior to that, he was the executive V.P. and CFO of EDB Business Partner in Oslo, Norway.

IRM Systems has opened its first office in Aberdeen, Scotland. The new office is home to IRMS UKWA, a new division dedicated to serving clients in the UK and West Africa. Key management appointments have been made to head the new office. David Obatolu has been named general manager. He is a chartered engineer with more than eight years of experience, and has managed numerous pipeline projects. Lee Dudbridge will serve as the engineering manager. He brings 19 years of industry experience to his new role. Additionally, Ismail Lawal has been named senior pipeline engineer. Also a chartered engineer, Lawal has 12 years of experience in subsea and onshore pipelines, risers, subsea manifolds and umbilicals.

The International Association of Oil & Gas Producers (IOGP) has named a new chair. Monika Hausenblas, Royal Dutch Shell’s executive V.P. of Safety & Environment, was elected at the February meeting of the association’s management committee. She succeeds John Chaplin of Exxon Mobil.

Jeff Hughes has been named president and COO of Drillinginfo. Drawing on more than 20 years of SaaS expertise, P&L management and leadership, Hughes will heighten company growth and customer satisfaction. He served most recently as CTO for NCR Financial Services, while also running Digital Insight, the global technology company’s largest SaaS business unit.

Nigel Lees, decommissioning director for Wood Group, has been appointed as the new vice-chair to the Decom North Sea (DNS) board of directors. He has more than 25 years of industry experience, including considerable time on decommissioning and asset modification projects.

The Texas Alliance of Energy Producers has announced several administrative changes. John James Tintera, who has been a consultant with the Alliance since 2012, has been appointed executive V.P. of government relations. Gloria Leal, who has been a consultant since 2006, has been named general counsel. Bill Stevens, who has been a government relations specialist with the Alliance since 2000, is now chief lobbyist. Additionally, James M. Wortham, who has experience working for a number of midstream natural gas companies, has been hired as director of Membership Services for North Texas. He will be based in Fort Worth.

Ann Pickard has been appointed a non-executive director on Woodside’s board, effective Feb. 29. She joins the company as an independent director. Pickard retired from Royal Dutch Shell, where she held numerous positions during her 15-year tenure. Prior to her retirement, she served as Shell’s executive V.P., Arctic, and was responsible for the company’s Arctic exploration efforts. wo-box_blue.gif


About the Authors
Emily Querubin
World Oil
Emily Querubin Emily.Querubin@worldoil.com
Related Articles
Connect with World Oil
Connect with World Oil, the upstream industry's most trusted source of forecast data, industry trends, and insights into operational and technological advances.