Veteran port commissioners reflect on history of phenomenal growth

Louisiana established the Greater Lafourche Port Commission in 1960, but it was not until 1971 that the first publicly elected Board of Commissioners took office, eventually hiring its first director, Ted Falgout, seven years later. Today, a nine-member board, elected to six-year non-staggered terms, oversees the operations of Port Fourchon. World Oil sat down with Board President Perry Gisclair and the two longest-serving commissioners, Donald Vizier—first elected in 1989—and Larry Griffin, elected in 1992, to look back on the remarkable history of Port Fourchon. They discussed an operating budget that jumped more than seven-fold in just two decades, while the rush to meet expanding demand from the deepwater arena, that occurred nearly overnight, saw slips increase, from 400 ft wide to 700-ft, to meet the requirements of more and larger support vessels.

Log in to view this article.

Not yet a subscriber?  Find out more and subscribe today! 

Already a subscriber but don’t have an online account? Contact our customer service.



*Access will be granted the next business day.