Winners of 2015 World Oil Awards honored in Houston gala

By roger jordan, associate editor on 10/15/2015

HOUSTON – More than 300 of the upstream industry’s brightest minds gathered Thursday to find out the winners of the 2015 World Oil Awards.

This year's ceremony included two new categories.

The awards ceremony, which is now in its fourteenth year, seeks to recognize and honor the upstream industry’s top innovations and innovators. 

Honorees took home awards in 18 categories—encompassing the full breadth of the upstream industry—from the gala event in Houston.

This year’s awards, which received an overwhelming number of nominations, saw the addition of two new categories—Best EOR Technology Award and Best Well Integrity Technology Award—to ensure appropriate recognition for every aspect of the industry.

Today’s innovations, many of which would have seemed far-fetched a generation ago, are enabling operators to find and produce hydrocarbons more safely, economically and efficiently.

And, as part of World Oil’s commitment to the long-term health of the industry, each year the World Oil Awards endow a leading university, which provides education for careers in the petroleum industry, with much-needed funding to equip the next generation of innovators.

Since the inception of the World Oil Awards, donations have been distributed to 31 universities as varying as the University of Houston and the University of Ibadan in Nigeria.

This year’s beneficiary is the Women in Engineering Program in the Cockrell School of Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin.

A complete list of the categories and winners appears below. A complete analysis of the winners will be featured in the November edition of World Oil.

2015 World Oil Awards Winners

Best Completion Technology Award

MultiCycle Frac Sleeves, NCS Multistage LLC

Best Data Management & Application Solution Award

Non-Destructive BOP Inspection Technology-4D Digital Fingerprinting, GE Oil & Gas

Best Deepwater Technology Award

Hammerhead Ultra-deepwater Integrated Completion and Production System, Baker Hughes Incorporated

Best Drilling and Completion Fluids Award

RHELIANT PLUS Drilling Fluid System, M-I SWACO, a Schlumberger company

Best Drilling Technology Award

GeoSphere Reservoir Mapping-While-Drilling Service, Schlumberger

Best EOR Technology Award

WASP (Wireline Applied Stimulation Pulsing), Blue Spark Energy Inc

Best Exploration Technology Award

3D Mapping of Reservoir Saturation from Crosswell Electromagnetic in Horizontal Wells, Saudi Aramco and Schlumberger

Best Health, Safety, Environment / Sustainable Development - Offshore Award

Safety Lock Module, National Oilwell Varco

Best Health, Safety, Environment / Sustainable Development - Onshore Award

EnviroLift, Weatherford International plc

Best Outreach Program

Fortis 4 Vets Program, Fortis Energy Services Inc.

Best Production Chemicals Award

Chemically-induced Pulse Fracturing for Unconventional Reservoirs, Saudi Aramco

Best Production Technology Award

AccessFrac, Halliburton

Best Visualization & Collaboration Award

ePLUS Retina Monitoring System, Packers Plus Energy Services Inc.

Best Well Integrity Technology Award

Deepwater MPD System including MicroFlux Control System, Weatherford International plc

Best Well Intervention Award

BlueCoil Technology, Tenaris Coiled Tubes

Innovative Thinker Award

Philip M. Snider, PMSnider Consulting LLC

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tore Halvorsen, FMC Technologies

New Horizons Idea Award

Modumetal, Modumetal Inc.

Related News ///


Comments ///


{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}