People ///

PESA to offer Alex Epstein workshop: How to talk to anyone about energy

PESA, the national trade association for the oilfield service, supply and manufacturing sectors, offers a half-day workshop with Alex Epstein, author of "The Moral Case for Fossil Fuels" on November 14, 2017, at OneSubsea, a Schlumberger Company.

Alex Mills, president of Texas Alliance of Energy Producers, announces retirement

The Texas Alliance of Energy Producers announced today that Alex Mills will retire, effective Dec. 31, 2017, as president and chief of staff.

Chevron elects new CEO, chairman of the board

Chevron Corporation has announced that its board of directors elected Michael K. Wirth as chairman of the board and CEO, effective Feb. 1, 2018.

Maersk Oil CEO to step down following Total deal closure

Maersk Oil leaders have been appointed by Total for the first management positions in the future business. The appointments are subject to successful deal closure and will not be effective before this.

Wintershall Norge names new managing director

Wintershall today announced Hugo Dijkgraaf as new managing director of its Norwegian subsidiary.

Perry tells climate hecklers that fossil fuels save lives

U.S. Energy Secretary Rick Perry has a message for those seeking to link climate change with this year’s devastating hurricanes: Fossil fuels are saving lives.

Norway prime minister wins second term as insurgency against oil fizzles

Prime Minister Erna Solberg became Norway’s first Conservative Party leader in over three decades to be re-elected as a movement to stop further oil exploration in western Europe’s biggest petroleum producer fizzled.

Norwegian Petroleum Directorate hires new exploration director

Torgeir Stordal has been hired as the exploration director in the Norwegian Petroleum Directorate.

YPF CEO resigns as oil company readies asset sales, shale focus

Ricardo Darre, CEO of YPF SA, has resigned as Argentina’s largest oil producer prepares to sell at least $1 billion in assets and focus on developing the world’s second-biggest reserve of shale gas.

KrisEnergy announces appointment of new CEO

KrisEnergy Ltd., an independent upstream oil and gas company, announces that Kelvin Tang, Chief Operating Officer (COO) and president of the Company’s Cambodian operations, has been appointed CEO with effect from Sept. 1, 2017.

SEG announces results of 2017-2018 board of directors election

The Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) today announced results of its 2017-2018 board of directors election.

Former Anadarko CEO back in the oil game

James Hackett, the former chief executive of Anadarko Petroleum Corp. who retired to attend Harvard Divinity School, is back to running an oil company.

Hunting announces appointment of new CEO

Hunting is pleased to announce the promotion of Arthur James (Jim) Johnson as CEO with effect from Sept. 1, 2017. Jim will succeed Dennis Proctor, who will retire as CEO and as a director of Hunting on the same date.

API applauds Senate action to restore quorum at FERC

API applauded the Senate’s action today to confirm Rob Powelson and Neil Chatterjee to be commissioners at FERC – restoring a quorum at the agency.

Oil "God" Andy Hall closes down main hedge fund after major loss

If an oil trader so good that he was known as “God” can’t win in today’s markets, it’s hard to imagine who can.

API welcomes nominations of Kevin McIntyre, Richard Glick to FERC

API welcomed the administration’s nominations of Richard Glick to be a commissioner and Kevin McIntyre to be the chairman of FERC and called on the Senate to promptly approve these nominations so that the agency can continue its work to approve important infrastructure projects across the country.

2016 SPE President Nathan Meehan to keynote ShaleTech Permian conference

Former SPE President Nathan Meehan (2016), President of Gaffney, Cline & Associates, will deliver the keynote address at World Oil’s inaugural ShaleTechTM Permian conference in October.

LAGCOE announces LAGCOE Looey 2017: Don Briggs

LAGCOE is proud to announce LAGCOE Looey 2017, Mr. Don Briggs, Founding Member and President of the Louisiana Oil and Gas Association. LAGCOE Looey is an honorary position given to someone who has accomplished something great in the oil and gas industry.

Halliburton names new executive V.P., CFO

Halliburton Company has announced the appointment of Christopher (Chris) Weber as executive V.P. and chief financial officer (CFO), effective June 22, 2017.

John Flannery takes the helm at GE as Immelt steps down

GE announced today that John Flannery, current president and CEO of GE Healthcare, has been named CEO of the company by the GE board of directors, effective Aug. 1, 2017, and chairman and CEO, effective Jan. 1, 2018. Jeff Immelt, chairman and CEO, will remain chairman of the board through his retirement from the company on Dec. 31, 2017.